This guide provides best practices for what to do when a user no longer needs access to Dash Enterprise.
You must be an administrator to manage users and app ownership.
When a Dash Enterprise user is no longer using the platform, first check whether they have a license seat and whether they’ve created any apps. If the user doesn’t have a license seat (no
licensed_user role), skip to Deleting Users. If the user does have a license seat and has created one or more apps, you must transfer the apps to another user before you do anything else.
Dash Enterprise supports transferring apps to another user, as long as both users have license seats.
Transferring apps transfers any resources—workspaces, Redis databases, and Postgres databases—that are attached to the apps. It also preserves all the access options and settings saved in the App Info such as viewer access, co-owners, portal visibility, environment variables, and contact information.
During an app transfer, all of a user’s apps are transferred in the same action. Keep in mind that if the new owner already owns other apps, it will not be possible to exactly reverse the transfer, as a second transfer would include both the new owner’s original apps and their new ones. During an app transfer, it is not possible to transfer some apps to one user and other apps to a different user.
To transfer a user’s apps to a new owner:
adminrole to be able to access platform and user information.
The new owner now has permission to work on and configure the apps as though they created them. Review the permissions that app owners have.
Users are not notified when they receive ownership of apps, but can see their newly owned apps at
https://<your-dash-enterprise-server>/apps under My Apps.
If the former owner of the transferred apps no longer needs their license seat, it is now safe to revoke it by unassigning the
licensed_user role in Keycloak (or, if you delete the user, their license seat is revoked automatically).
Deletion is the recommended way to manage users who no longer need access to Dash Enterprise. Deleting users makes them unable to log in, removes all references to them in the Dash Enterprise App Manager and Portal, and, if they had a license seat, makes the license seat available to be allocated to a different user.
Deleting a user does not delete any apps that they own, so you need to transfer any apps to a new owner before you delete the user.